Regional English Accents

Standard

I’m kinda fascinated by the variety of English accents. In England alone, there are dozens and dozens of unique regional accents, and each spoken accent can have its’ own vocabulary, grammar and pronunciations.

I remember travelling to Newcastle, in north east England, some years ago. And when some of the locals spoke to me on the train, I really did not have a clue what they were saying. Which, since I originate from East Yorkshire, only about 70 odd miles away is quite amazing.

One explanation for the growth of regional accents, goes along the lines of – prior to about 200 years ago, very few people actually traveled further than their local community unless they had to. And, of course, there was no radio or TV for people to listen to. This relative isolation gave people amply opportunity to develop their own language variations.

Another phenomena is that there isn’t really such a thing as a British accent. There are simply too many regional accents in the British isles for that to be true. I found some references which suggested that the notion of a correct British accent is a form of cultural imperialism adopted at the time of empire and all that, which sounds about right, just the kind of BS they would go for.

Personally, whatever the reasons I’m very, very glad there isn’t such a thing as a standard British or English accent. I love to hear the endless richness of their varied sounds, their beautifully mangled verbs and I delight in hearing old-fashioned personal pronouns still being used in the 21st century.

© David R. Durham
Spiritual Healing Website
To receive Blog updates, click on the +Follow on your screen.

3 responses